WhatsApp has finally got feature to get back text, when you send a message to the wrong person or group.
The Facebook-owned Whatsapp is rolling a feature that will finally let its 1 billion-plus users delete a message for all people within a chat.
Right now, the Whatsapp’s delete feature is fairly ineffective as it only removes a message for the person who sent it. That means that those the message wasn’t proposed for can still read it. But this latest update will give the option to “delete for everyone” which rids it from the chat for everyone. Instead they will see a notification clearing up the message has been removed. The feature is still rolling out so not everyone has it yet: I don’t, but at least one of the TechCrunch reporters team member does. More details can be found on the company’s FAQ page:
To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
The sole limitation for that is that all chatting participants must have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their device. That’s a most important deal-breaker at this point but, as time goes by and more people will upgrade their app, the option to undo those embarrassing miss-messages will apply to more and more conversations.
Most WhatsApp users will agree that this update is long overdue.